New Release

Coming Soon

New In Store


Hindi Movies

Hindi Movies

Alternative Content


Bollywood Specials


Short Film













New Release

New In Store


Bharat Ek Khoj (1986)

Bharat Ek Khoj DVD [18 Disc Premium Edition]

(Includes an Exclusive Book)

Cast: Roshan Seth

Director: Shyam Benegal

Itemcode: 1000009616
Add to Wishlist


Out of Stock.

Want us to send you an E-mail Alert when this item becomes available?


Bharat Ek Khoj (1986)

Also Known As: The Discovery of India

Country: India

Language: Hindi

Year: 1986


Category: Television

Genre: History


Bharat Ek Khoj is a 53 episode television series that dramatically unfolds the 5000 year history of India from its beginnings to the coming of independence in 1947. It is a series of explorations into the different periods of Indian history. Directed by Shyam Benegal, the serial is based on a book written by historian and the first Prime Minister of independent India, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, titled The Discovery of India.

Episode List
1. Bharat Mata Ki Jai
2. The Beginnings
3. The Arrival Of The Vedic People (The Rigveda)
4. Caste Formation
5. Mahabharata Part 1
6. Mahabharata Part 2
7. Ramayana Part 1
8. Ramayana Part 2
9. Republics And Kingdoms
10. Negation And Acceptance Of Life
11. Chanakya And Chandragupta Part 1
12. Chanakya And Chandragupta Part 2
13. Ashoka Part 1
14. Ashoka Part 2
15. The Sangam Period-Silapaddirakam Part 1
16. The Sangam Period-Silapaddirakam Part 2
17. The Classical Age
18. Kalidas And Shakuntala Part 1
19. Kalidas And Shakuntala Part 2
20. Harshavardhana
21. Bhakti
22. The Chola Empire Part 1
23. The Chola Empire Part 2
24. The Delhi Sultanate And Prithviraj Raso Part 1
25. The Delhi Sultanate And Prithviraj Raso Part 2
26. The Delhi Sultanate And Padmavat
27. Synthesis
28. The Vijayanagar Empire
29. Feudalism
30. The Fall Of The Vijayanagar Empire
31. Rana Sanga, Ibrahim Lodi And Babur
32. Akbar Part 1
33. Akbar Part 2
34. Golden Hind
35. Aurangzeb Part 1
36. Aurangzeb Part 2
37. Shivaji Part 1
38. Shivaji Part 2
39. Company Bahadur
40. Tipu Sultan
41. The Bengal Renaissance And Raja Ram Mohan Roy
42. 1857 Part 1
43. 1857 Part 2
44. Indigo Revolt
45. Mahatma Phule
46. Sir Syed Ahmed Khan
47. Vivekananda
48. Extremists And Moderates
49. And Gandhi Came Part 1
50. And Gandhi Came Part 2
51. Separatism
52. Do Or Die
53. Epilogue

Cast: Roshan Seth

Director: Shyam Benegal

Music Director: Vanraj Bhatia

Story: Jawaharlal Nehru

Voice: Om Puri

Format: DVD

Label: Doordarshan

DVD Region: All Region

No Of Disks: 18

Additional Notes

Difference Between the 18-Disc-Version and the 9-Disc-Version: Both, the 18-Disc-Version and the 9-Disc-Version have exactly the same content. While the 18-Disc-Version of Bharat Ek Khoj is a high resolution Premium Edition the 9-Disc-Version too offers all 53 episodes at an affordable price but a slightly lower resolution.